Blog Post Week 4

     Hello, everyone again it is Jeremiah. Everything has been going great since the last blog post. I have been busy with more people coming to the museum and other tasks that I have been working on. Yesterday there were about thirteen people who come through the doors of the museum. Which was the most in one day for me. Three of those visitors were children. As schools around here are letting out and are out for the summer. I have noticed there have been more people with their kids in the museum. Also, the Lighthouse Museum is getting more visitors as well.

     I know that I told all of you already that I do not work for the lighthouse museum but a small museum less than a mile away. Most people who come to the museum that I work in are looking for the lighthouse. I am getting into the groove of talking to people about the area. Also, some of the people who come through here are locals that just passed this area for years and just never come in. I love to talk to the locals about Ponce Inlet and if they were born here or from the North. Most of the locals are from the North that came here to stay.

     I have been working hard when there is a lull in the visitors coming through the doors of the museum. I have been working on the historical road that I told all of you about last week and the week before.It will take some time to finish this little historical project. Also, I received the thumb drive that I told all of you about last week that was corrupted. I received it yesterday from my boss. Somehow it was corrupted but she had all the stuff on a backup file. She also put some new stuff on it as well. She put on a new clip of the Davis’ who owned this house before it was a museum. So I am transcribing this clip from their interview. I have been busy because it is a small museum that I get to manage by myself. When I say manage I mean opening and closing, give tours, the transaction of sales, and other things by myself. Some of you might think this is too much but I am getting a hold on it. After about a month of doing this, it is becoming a natural flow of work for me.

     Like I said it is a small museum and most of the people who come here are locals or looking for the lighthouse. I have been working hard and I am looking forward to what is next. I hope all of you guys are finding this interesting as I am. I will talk to all of you next week with some more interesting historical knowledge.

Leave a comment